Paraguay:  Land of the Guaraní

Etymologic Origen:

It’s believed that the name of country originated in the union of the three guaraní words: PARA that mean sea, gua that mean origin, and Y which translated into water, so it can be considered that PARAGUAY means “Water that comes from the Sea”.

General Data:

Area (Km2): 406,752
Costas (Km): No coastlines.
Capital: Asunción – Founded in 1537 by Juan de Salazar y Espinosa
Currency: Guaraní
Official Languages: Spanish and Guaraní
National Holiday: May 15, Independence Day
Official Time: GMT -4 hours (normal), -3 (Summer)
Independence Day:May 14, 1811
Religion: Catholic, with freedom of religion
Government: Republic with Three Powers: Executive, Legislative, and Judicial
Political Divisions: Divided into 17 Departments with 17 Governors
Climate: The annual average temperature is 22º
International Boarding Fee (2011): Paid on departure at the airport, 25 USD


Independence House
Independence House
Heroes Pantheon
Heroes Pantheon

Summer:             21-Dec to 20-Mar
Autumn:              21-Mar to 20-June
Winter:                21-June to 20-Sept
Spring:              21-Sept to 20-Dec

Internet Country Code: .py
Telephone Calling Code: 595



Paraguay is located in the heart of South America, accessible from the four cardinal points by whichever type of communication, with an unsurpassable position, only 2 air hours to all the principal ciites of South America,

This condition permits that Paraguay’s principal cites become strategic points for the realization of conventions, congresses, and fairs. To these advantages it  provides the full range of auditoriums, establishments for events, hotels, sporting stadiums with infrastructure  of the most modern technologies; well-trained personal, with fluency in foreign languages and a warm and hospitable – by tradition – with visitors.



Paraguay is land-locked country, with no coastlines, but is crossed with numerous rivers and streams throughout its length. In fact, two of its principal rivers, the Paraguay River and the Paraná River, allow access to the Atlantic Ocean.

Geographic Divisions:

Paraguay is divided into two natural regions with characteristics very well delineated.

The Oriental Region: Delineated by the Paraguay River towards the east, covering 39% of the national territory and home to 97.3% of the population.  It has more than 800 rivers and streams, and the 95% of its lands is arable. The principal institutions of the Republic and its most important historic patrimony and cultural are in this region. It has 14 departments and the mayor sanitary structure, roads, educational, communications and basic services.

The Occidental Region or Chaco:  To the West of the Paraguay River, covering 61% of the national territory and home to a little more than 2% of the population. Its territory consisting of dry and sandy lands was formed by a sea bed that emerged in Cuaternala era, is nowadays populated by extensive marshes, palm thickets, ponds, and streams. It has 3 departments and its economic productions formed by some cultivations and ranching is concentrated in the Departmente of Presidente Hayes. In this region, the annual average temperature surpasses the 35 °C, which is known as the green inferno.

This region accounts for the mayor part of the indigienous population of the country with ancient ethnicities such as the Maka, Lengua, Chiripa, Sanapana, Tova, Tova com, and others.



Nuestra Señora de Santa María de la Asuncion (Our Lady Saint Mary of the Assumption) is the capital city of the Republic of Paraguay. It is the oldest city founded by the Spanish in South America. It is known as “Mother of the Cities”, because during the era of conquista various expedition left from Asuncion with the object of founding other cities of South American cone, including Buenos Aires.

Asuncion is an autonomous municipality, this means it is not attached to any departments. It accounts for a population of approximately 515,662 inhabitants, which makes it the city with the largest urban agglomeration in Paraguay. Its metropolitan area, denominated as Greater Asuncion, includes the cities of San Lorenzo, Lambaré, Fernando de la Mora, Capiatá, Luque, Mariano Roque Alonso, Ñemby, Villa Elisa, and San Antonio; which increments its population to approximately 1,600,000 inhabitants.

Bicentenary of Paraguay
Bicentenary of Paraguay
Government Palace
Government Palace
Bay of Asunción
Bay of Asunción
Bicentenary at Government Palace
Bicentenary at Government Palace
Government Palace Back
Government Palace Back
Bicentenary of Paraguay
Bicentenary of Paraguay

Other Cities to Visit:

  • Ciudad del Este
  • Encarnación
  • Pedro Juan Caballero
  • Villarrica
  • Itaugua:  City cradle to the Ñandutí,  with prinicipal plaza of arcades, church, picturesque market.
  • San Bernandino: Town founded by German colonists, lakeside resort much visited by the inhabitants of Asuncion.  It is on the Lake Ypacarai, with its shores covered in an abundant tropical vegetation.
  • Yaguaron: Village at the foot of a hill, in the midst of orange grooves, its church is the prototype of sanctuaries for missioneries.



Paraguay consists of immense ecosystems, hills, and forest of easy access, as well as no less than 40 waterfalls of great scenic beauty, makes Paraguay a country endowed with a nature full of variety and dynamism.

Added to this, an enormous biological diversity makes it, with its more than 30 national parks and ecological reserves, a country of exceptional attraction to observe birds, nature sports,  the  vacation in contact with an entirely unique environment, and the scientific investigation in the fields of botany and zoology.

Fauna and Flora

An extensive fauna, formed by 100,000 species of invertebrates, 230 species of fishes, 46 species of amphibians, 100 species of reptiles, 645 species of birds, and 167 species of mammals – with some species in danger of extinction which includes parrots, owls, monkeys, pumas, foxes, wild boar, and large-sized reptiles like the caiman, anaconda and boa constrictor.

In terms of flora, there are 180 families and 1103 genres registered, with value widely known and appreciated by the contribution of such species as the Ananá, the Yerba Mate, and the  Ka’a He’ê.

The vegetation is characterize by the low hills, prairie grasses, and hardwood forest species such as red quebracho, palm trees, guayacán, and timbó.



There are few food that characterize Paraguay like the chipa, also known of Paraguayan Pan, that is prepared with mandioca starch, corn flour, cheese and anise. However, few know that there are more than 80 types of chipa including the popular Mbejú and the widespread Sopa Paraguaya. The Chipa Paraguaya have two main  “capitals”, Eusebio Ayala in Cordillera Department and Colonel Bogado in the Itapua Department.


Recommended Touristic Locations:

Mbaracayu Forest Natural Reserve:Protected Reserve with more than 400 birds and area of 63.000 hectares.

Yguazu Waterfalls: At the border with Brazil, one of the major spectacles of nature with cascades of water  of colosoal sized, surrounded by rich fauna and flora.